Greenland Mills

Greenland Mills

The fall of water that is held up by Bradford Weir powered many of the mills and factories of the town. On the southern bank of the River Avon, at the far end of Bridge Street, was a group for factories known as Greenland, presumably so-called because of their relatively distant position from the town centre.

...

Read More

Old Photographs: Frome Road

Old Photographs: Frome Road

 

Click on the thumbnail pictures to get a bigger view

  .

The Three Horseshoes pub, at the beginning of Frome Road, in the 1890s. Externally at least, little has changed in more than a century; apart from the transport, the main difference is the loss of the large gas lamp.   Read More

A New Museum Publication: The Hall

A New Museum Publication: The Hall

Bradford on Avon Museum’s publications group has come up with another in our series of booklets about local subjects, in conjunction with Ex Libris Press.

Pamela Slocombe’s booklet, which is in a slightly larger format than the previous ones, is about The Hall, the ancient and beautiful mansion on the eastern side of Bradford. It gives a history of the development of the...

Read More

Explore Bradford: Views

Explore Bradford: Views

.

Bradford Town Bridge with Abbey Mill beyond and the terraces of Tory and the hillside in the background.

.

.

.

.

The hillside seen from the railway station. Directly...

Read More

Old Photographs: Trowbridge Road

Old Photographs: Trowbridge Road

.

Click on the thumbnail pictures for a larger view

Trowbridge Road looking north towards the centre of town. Avonfield Terrace (built in 1879) is on the right; The other side of the road was, in around 1890, yet to be developed.

 .

.

Read More

Old Photographs: Bradford in the 1960s

Old Photographs: Bradford in the 1960s

.

A small collection of black-and-white photographs which belonged to a former Museum Steward and Treasurer. Structurally little has changed since these were taken, but the cars give the date of the pictures -many of which would be regarded as “classic cars” now.

Click on the thumbnail pictures for a larger...

Read More

Canal Quarry, Frome Road

Canal Quarry, Frome Road

Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire

.

Canal Quarry had a special significance in the history of science. It was one of the places in the area where the Bradford Clay was found and the fossils that were collected there in the early nineteenth century found their way into collections...

Read More

The Hall, Holt Road

The Hall, Holt Road

The Hall, situated on the eastern outskirts of the town, is one of the most important of Bradford on Avon’s buildings.

A house existed here in the mid-13th century and the family who owned it took their name of Hall from it. John Leland, who was reporting on the state of the nation for King Henry VIII,...

Read More

Explore Bradford: Conigre Hill-Huntingdon Street

Explore Bradford: Conigre Hill-Huntingdon Street

.

Conigre Hill is part of an ancient line of paths and roads that leads from Church Street via Rosemary Lane to Huntingdon Street and across the fields to Monkton Farleigh and beyond. Conigre is the Wessex word for rabbit warren and there are several localities in Bradford...

Read More

Kelston

.

Kelston, a village on the north-western side of Bath in Somerset, was, like Bradford on Avon, a manor that belonged to the Abbey of Shaftesbury in the Middle Ages. It seems to have been run as a part of the Abbey’s holdings in Bradford, although little contemporary...

Read More

Churches and Chapels in Bradford

Churches and Chapels in Bradford

 

No remains of a Christian church in the Roman period have yet been found, but it has been suggested that a circular structure built on top of a mosaic floor in the St Laurence School Roman Villa was a palaeo-Christian baptistery.

.

The Saxon Church, called St Laurence, in Church Street is a small...

Read More

Schools in Bradford

Schools in Bradford

.

Schooling was provided by the priest of Thomas Horton’s chantry from 1524 and survived the chantry’s dissolution in 1540, however its funds were appropriated from the Crown in 1559 towards funding a school in Salisbury. Rents on some pieces of land were given over by Edward Norton [Horton?] to support the foundation of a Grammar School...

Read More

Public Houses in Bradford

Public Houses in Bradford

.

Public houses come and go over the centuries; unfortunately, at the moment it is mostly go. They also have a habit of changing their names at the whim of the owner or publican, which makes for a confusing historical record. Small beer retailers, usually a sideline in a private house, appear in lists and directories; a few of them developed into...

Read More

Old Photographs: Church Street

Old Photographs: Church Street

 .

Click on the thumbnail pictures for a larger view

.

Bradford commemorated the death of King Edward VII in 1910 with a parade and a service at the parish church. On the right, the buildings of Church Street Mill are unoccupied and windows have been smashed. They were still at...

Read More

St Laurence School Roman Villa

St Laurence School Roman Villa

It had long been known that there was significant Roman building in the Budbury area, on the plateau just north of the centre of Bradford. An excavation in 1976, when new houses were being built, found a bath house, so the villa house had to be nearby.

A fragment of plaster that had fallen from the walls of the bath house. Many of these pieces were conserved in a...

Read More

Explore Broughton Gifford

Explore Broughton Gifford

.

Click on the thumbnail pictures for bigger view

Now situated on the southern edge of the village, St Mary’s Church has a west tower in 15th century perpendicular style, while the body is 13th century Early English gothic with an arcade on the north of the nave. A south chapel was added c1300 and next to it...

Read More

Explore Bradford: Ashley Road

Explore Bradford: Ashley Road

.

Ashley Road runs from the Bath Road to the hamlet of Ashley in the parish of Winsley. The first part is behind the old terraces of Bearfield, then passes St Laurence School and post-war housing, before entering countryside and a maze of narrow lanes.

.

The house...

Read More

Explore Bradford: Silver Street, southern side

Explore Bradford: Silver Street, southern side

.

The Lamb Factory, beside the Town Bridge, was built in 1917 for the Spencer Moulton rubber company on the site of the old Lamb Inn and a small shop. It is faced with stone, but has a frame utilising an early system of reinforced concrete. It closed like the rest of the factories and has been converted to new uses, including a small...

Read More

Explore Bradford: Silver Street, northern side

Explore Bradford: Silver Street, northern side

The first building on Silver Street and just around into Horse Street (Market Street) is known as Ward’s Corner after the newsagent and stationer Atkinson Ward, whose wife wrote under the name of Fay Inchfawn. No 2 was the shoe shop of Mark Uncles before his son Rowland moved it up Market Street.

.

Read More

Explore Bradford: Whitehead’s Lane

Explore Bradford: Whitehead’s Lane

.

Whitehead’s Lane is a short street that goes up hill from Silver Street at around the point where the chapel of St Olave once stood. It is named after Manasseh Whitehead, a 17th century Quaker.

Click on the thumbnail pictures for a bigger view

Sundial House, so-named...

Read More

Page 1 of 3123