Explore Bradford: Junction Road

Junction Road was made in the late 19th century to join Frome Road and Trowbridge Road.

Fitzmaurice Grammar SchoolThe building now known as Fitzmaurice Place was formerly Fitzmaurice Grammar School. The school was founded as the County Technical School, occupying temporary premises in Frome Road until this building opened in 1896. Its main funders, besides the County, were Lord Fitzmaurice and John Moulton and it took the name of Fitzmaurice after he died in 1935. The school closed in 1980 when it was combined with the new St Laurence School. It became the centrepiece of a collection of new buildings that are retirement homes.

     < Back to the previous page