Explore Bradford: The Shambles

The Shambles from the Silver Street endThe Shambles is a short pedestrian shopping street running between Market and Silver Streets, on the site of the medieval market stalls (scamels). The name is relatively recent; it was previously known as High Street.

It preserves several old buildings, including two timber-framed ones of about 1600 that have an older party wall and buttress. Next to them is the former Royal Oak pub, now Tillion’s, with a 15th century doorway.

The former Post Office on the Market Street end was built in two stages- in 1901 and 1936- and has a rare monogram of Edward VIII. It has now unfortunately been closed by Royal Mail and its services have moved to the Budgens supermarket, next to the Town Bridge and sorting office is in Rowden Lane, off Frome Road.

.

Medieval doorway in the Shambles The Post Office at the western, Market Street, end of the Shambles

former Co-op building, ShamblesThe first building from the Market Street end on the northern side was built for the Bradford Co-operative Society in 1930 to house the drapery and butcher departments, replacing the bakery of William Summers. Numbers 1 and 2 now contain the Ex Libris bookshop and the shop of the Dorothy House Hospice. A mosaic with the co-op’s name is still in place.

.

golden postbox, Shambles/Market Street

At the junction of The Shambles and Market Street is the golden postbox that was repainted by Royal Mail to celebrate the winning of a gold medal by Bradford’s Ed McKeever in the 2012 London Olympic Games.

.

.

 

     < Back to the previous page